I had good intentions

I really did have plans to get up early for my long run.  Alas, at 5am I awoke to our house guest, aka 6 month old kitten Wasabi chasing around our cat Le Chat.  I then realized I would not be getting up in an hour when my alarm was to go off.  So, um, yeah, I did what any unrested person would do.  I turned the alarm off and went back to sleep.  Finally got up around 8:30am.

Oops!

And yeah, I paid for it today during my long run.  I finally got out about 11am.  Not the most ideal time to go running.  According to my Garmin, it was about 77 degrees and humidity was at 39%.  I was feeling sluggish, so I took it easy and lowered my intervals way down to a 2 minute / 45 seconds.  I don’t usually lower my intervals but my lower back is giving me some pain on my left side, similar to what I feel at the 15K mark of a run, so I wasn’t sure if I could maintain a long run for a 5 or 10 minute time frame without a gait/recovery change. I’ll be doing some extra stretching and rolling today.

It was not a great run, but I enjoyed being outside today and felt accomplished that I got it done.  Next weekend is the 15k race I’m scheduled to run, and although I know I’m not ready for this in terms of getting a time I will be happy with, at least, I know I will finish.

 

 

4 thoughts on “I had good intentions

  1. I’ve been there before. But we can’t wait that late to run. Sheesh, it doesn’t cool down below the mid 80’s overnight down here. By 11 it’s already back to triple digits.

Leave a Reply

