Wonderful Spring Day!

It’s that time of year, when I am busy, busy, busy.  There is so much going on that I find myself torn in all different directions.  I work Monday thru Friday, so there is little time in the evening to get projects done, so during the week, I just keep up on daily chores, and find some time for a 5K run.  I’m sure many of you have similar scenarios that you can totally relate.  Planning my upcoming week ahead has always been key so that I am able to enjoy some time for myself for exercise.  Exercise, for me, brings balance to my life, and I’m all about balance.  Of course, unexpected things do occur, so I have to adjust.  “Looks like that laundry isn’t getting done tonight!”.  It’s things like that, I just have to let it go if it doesn’t go according to plan.  (hee hee, “Let it go”…I swear, this isn’t a Run Disney blog today)

A few weeks ago, we began our bedroom painting project.  The main room in now done as far as painting goes, but there is still much to do.

Here’s a before and ‘almost’ after pic.  The white wall is now purple as well.

We still have to remove the banister on the stairs below, and paint the wall leading up the stairs.  As well, we will be putting up a handrail in place of the banister, replacing some lighting, and putting up some pictures and shelving.

Once we get all that complete, we are considering removing the carpet on the stairs, and I may refinish some of the furniture in the bedroom.  None of this, of course, will happen over night.  It’s a work in progress.  The progress will most likely occur over several weekends.

Running has been tough the past week due to work obligations.  I’ve been trying to get in 3 runs between Mon-Fri, however, if I have to stay later at work, it just doesn’t happen.  May is the busiest time of the year for me, so I’ll just have to try and manage until it lightens up in June.

I did however get out today.  And what a beautiful day it is today.  I ran my regular park path and then had a nice cool down walk as I didn’t want to head back home this morning.  It was early enough, that it wasn’t too busy in the park.  I enjoyed the quiet time. Before I left the park, I went and checked out the ducks in the marsh area of the park. Most of which were sleeping or just hanging out on the embankment.

Spring training has begun, and I’ve laid out my running plans for the next couple of months. At the moment I am training for a 10K in June, so I am limiting my long runs to 5-8K, and concentrating more on speed work.  I intend to do this for the next month or so, before starting to add on mileage for a 15K race I will be running in August.  This year, I really hope to improve on my half marathon time in the Fall.  I am signed up for a half over the Labour Day weekend, however, I think it will be a hilly course.  Not one for a PB, for sure. So I’m on the hunt for a flatter course for mid September.  I have yet to decide but I have a few I am considering at the moment.

Do you have any running goals this summer?  

One thought on “Wonderful Spring Day!

Leave a Reply

