Would You Run Cedar Point?

As mentioned in yesterday’s blog, I am considering The Biggest Loser Half marathon race in Buffalo this year.  While the half marathons are in various cities as stand-alone race events, the race organizers have also teamed up with the Six Flags amusement parks to offer 5K and 10K races.  Seems like teaming up with a theme park is becoming a growing trend.

As I was cruising the internet yesterday, I came across the Cedar Point Half Marathon. This half marathon is being held on June 29th, 2014.

The entry fees are relatively affordable, and what’s great about it is all participants of the half marathon can enjoy the theme parks on Friday evening, Saturday and Sunday as part of the registration.  How cool is that?

Course Map – Half Marathon

Half Marathon Participants receive:

  • Scenic running route through the theme park
  • Finisher medal
  • Free entry to the park on Friday after 5pm, all day Saturday, and all day Sunday
  • BibChip timing and instant online results
  • Commemorative long-sleeve tech T-shirt
  • Reduced-rate parking

Unfortunately, Cedar Point is a little far for me to travel this year as it’s about a 7 hour trip by car but I’ll be keeping my eyes on this race event for the future.  It will be interesting to see how other non-Disney theme parks incorporate running events and to see if these events will grow with popularity.

What do you think about other non-Disney theme park events?  

6 thoughts on “Would You Run Cedar Point?

  1. Very cool! I grew up on Ohio, and I would love to go back there for a race – seeing Cedar Point brought back childhood memories. We have a 6 flags in Dallas, so I’ll have to see if they have a race.

    • I expect to see the theme park, combined race event continue. If Disney can do it, what is stopping the others? I did a 5k last year at Toronto’s Canada’s Wonderland. It was organized during the time the park was closed (off season) but I could see them doing something during the regular season.

  2. I so glad you posted the course map because my first question was how do you do a half in Cedar Point? Makes more sense with the map. I would totally do this! Growing up in Michigan meant I went to Cedar Point a lot. I’d love to go back for a race. Maybe next year!

Leave a Reply

