Race Planning

The plague has hit our household this past week.  We’ve gone all winter without being sick.   Earlier this week, Kari came down with a chest cold, which has moved over to me as well.  He’s got it much worse than I, however, the heaviness in my chest and the frequent coughing has certainly put a damper on any running I could be doing.  I did manage to walk on my treadmill today while watching a Star Wars documentary for an hour.  Got 5 miles in, but walking is all I could do.  I know that running with a chest cold is never a good thing.  So I’m taking it easy, and hoping this will pass soon.  Kari is on the sofa watching The Avengers.  He’s got some lemon/garlic drink going on.  Which reminds me, tomorrow when I get up early, I’m definitely going to open up some windows.  Kinda smells like a garlic festival in here.  And who knew?  Toronto has one of those too!

So here I sit at my computer kinda wondering what I should be doing right now.  I know, race plan! We’ve been talking about which races to partake in for the upcoming Spring-to-Fall season.  We don’t have any destination trips planned for 2014 as we’ve already completed our two Disney events this past January.  We certainly will be doing some local events in the city of Toronto or nearby.  There is a handful in the later part of the Fall such as Scotiabank Waterfront Marathon, Road To Hope and Niagara Falls.  One really has to pick and choose between them as they all fall within a week or two of each other.  During the summer however, most races are shorter due to the heat and humidity.  In August there is a 15k called the Midsummer Night’s Run which we have done in previous years.  It’s a great race for those that are gearing up for a Fall marathon.  They also offer a 30K, which I’ve never done.  Partly because it’s August and August in Toronto can be very humid.  I’m not sure I want to risk signing up for a race, in which I may pass out.  Truth be told, I hate the humidity.  Even last year, there were some days a 5K training run made me ill.  One just had to step outside, and they were sweating buckets.

ME!  Bucket Sweater!

ME! Bucket Sweater!

Since we don’t have any destination races planned, a race did catch my eye the other day under The Biggest Loser Race Series.  There will be a half marathon in Buffalo on August 31st.  This definitely got me interested as it’s early enough before the Fall races hit my own area, and also it’s relatively close to home so that we could drive and have a shopping/race weekend in Buffalo.  What else could a girl ask for?  Oh, I know…it’s CHEAP!  Two registrations and two nights accommodation is cheaper than the 2015 Goofy registration.  Hmm…more spending money to go towards shopping! 🙂 Now, I’m not aware of The Biggest Loser Race Series.  Aside from the name, I assume it’s just like any other race series.  I did notice in the registration details they give the most generous finish times I’ve ever seen.  I would assume, this is because it’s also called a Walk series, so walkers need the extra time.  I can’t find any additional information in terms capacity, so I have no idea how big a typical BL race is in terms of number of runner/walkers.  I expect it won’t be too large.  Perhaps no larger than a few thousand participants. Seems like a good deal to me.  Definitely going to think about this race in the next couple of days and decide if we have one more run-cation for the 2014 year.

Do you plan any weekend run-cations that are a short distance from home?

3 thoughts on “Race Planning

  1. Good luck choosing! I’m always watching New Orleans for races. I’ll take any excuse to visit that town. I’ve run two halves there so far. It’s about an 8 hour drive for me, or a 1 hour flight. Yup.

Leave a Reply

