Tinker Bell 10K Race Recap

The inaugural Tinker Bell 10K started at 6am on Saturday January 18th. 15 minutes later than the 5K the day before. You know what that meant; 15 more minutes of sleep time. My inner Sleeping Beauty was really enjoying these later corral times. We were excited to experience the inaugural 10k for the Tinker Bell race weekend.  The only down side is that Run Disney didn’t market this as a challenge as they did with the Princess Glass Slipper Challenge (running 10K & half).  Oh bother!  We were happy to be a part of it. Perhaps in the future Run Disney will do something similar?

We left for the corrals around 5am. The short walk to Disneyland Drive to the start of the race was enough to shake out our legs. Upon arrival, we saw a path leading to the runner stage area with several tents, port-o-potties, race information and lots of volunteers. We continued on the road as we aimed to find ourselves in A corral.

On our way to the start of the 10K Tinker Bell race

On our way to the start of the 10K Tinker Bell race

Biding our time before the race.

Race Selfie

Race Selfie

As with the WDW Marathon weekend and two other Tinker Bell races, I didn’t have a costume for this race. I decided to wear blue. Blue compressions socks, blue Sparkle Skirt, Blue tech shirt. I topped it off with a Blue Bondi Band that had the words “Just Livin the Dream” printed on it. I slowly came to realize I must have been channeling my inner Sully. That played out delightfully later on during the race. (read on for my most favourite pic of the day)

In our corral above, there was a big screen indicating we had arrived at the correct place.

Big Screen - We knew where we were, whew!

Big Screen – We knew where we were, whew!

Once the race began, we found ourselves running on Disneyland Drive towards the backstage, then onwards around It’s a Small World, Mickey’s Toontown, Critter Country, Frontierland and then around Fantasyland.

It's a Small World

It’s a Small World

Mile 1 - Only 5 more to go!

Mile 1 – Only 5 more to go!

Outside The Golden Horse Shoe in Frontierland

Outside The Golden Horseshoe in Frontierland

Front of Sleeping Beauty’s Castle, and onwards down Main Street.

Sleeping Beauty Castle

Sleeping Beauty Castle

Running Down Main Street towards California Adventure

Running Down Main Street towards California Adventure

We entered California Adventure at the main entrance and continued our journey to Condor Flats, and Grizzly Peak areas. Soon we arrived at mile marker 3 as we were coming towards Paradise Pier. A perfect time to stop and take a few photos.

Paradise Pier at California Adventure

Paradise Pier at California Adventure

Soon after we were deep into Cars Land passing by the Cozy Cone Motel and Flo’s V8 Cafe.  Unfortunately, this is where I was almost taken out by an overly revved up Car runner, who decided to suddenly cross in front of me.  I got lucky and I shifted into first gear before I ran into him.  Whew!

Cars Land

Cars Land

The last part of California Adventure was through Hollywood Land and then outside, onto Harbor Blvd for the last two miles of the course.  I can’t remember if I saw Mike and Sully first or the Tower of Terror first.  In any case, both of them were within short distances of eachother.

The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror

The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror

I think I fit in here!

I think I fit in here!

Soon enough, we found ourselves outside of California Adventure at mile 4. We had two more miles along Harbor Blvd, Disney Way and Katella Ave, to arrive at the finish.

Before we got to the end, I saw this sign…

Hmm...Maybe if I was still a pirate?

Hmm…Maybe if I was still a pirate?

Onwards to the end…

Tinker Bell 10K race complete

Tinker Bell 10K race complete

I have to say, I really enjoyed this course. We snapped tons of photos along the way and we took our time to really enjoy the sights. We still managed to get a decent time of somewhere around 1:13 for the race. Not super fast, but given the stopping, we were much happier with this time over the WDW Minnie 10K which had tons of traffic.

Next on the Tinker Bell Race weekend coverage – The Tinker Bell Half Marathon and race wrap up!

Until then, Happy Running.

3 thoughts on “Tinker Bell 10K Race Recap

    • Congratulations on registering for you 10K. I can think of no better place for you to experience it. Don’t worry…the course may not be exactly the same, however, I’m sure you will go through all the same areas of the parks that we did during Tink. You will have a blast.

Leave a Reply

