Walt Disney World Minnie 10K and Friday Fun

It’s funny how we were at WDW just days ago, and yet the whole experience went by so fast, it’s almost a blur now. Thank goodness I took lots of pictures so I can recall exactly what it was that we did!

The Minnie 10K pre morning preparation went off without a hitch. We had to get up earlier as the race started at 5:30am, but we were well into the groove of leaving sleep behind and focussing on the running events. Two alarms helped as well. 🙂

We made our way to the start via the WDW shuttle bus. We found ourselves in the midst of the other excited but sleep deprived runners, waiting at the last minutes before they had to rally over to the start corrals and wait patiently for their herding to the start. We gazed at all the costumes in our midst for a while and then suddenly, out of no where, walking up to us was Tabetha of I Run on Water, her husband Greg and their sisters, Rachael and Kathryn. What a great site to see! I had known about their car trip extravaganza, so I was so excited that they had finally arrived. Hugs for all! We chatted a bit. Caught up on the craziness they endured, and then parted ways so that we could find our corrals and organize our race plans. And of course, just like I would forget to turn off my Garmin after crossing the finish, not two minutes after we parted, and I said to myself, “darn, I forgot to get pics of us all”.

We corralled ourselves, and got to the start when it was time for the C group to begin. I have to say, I don’t recall to much about this race, other than being slightly annoyed by the bottle necking on the course. There were moments when we were on wide passages of road way, only to be filtered into narrow passages of road about one lane way thick. It was like sucking on a milkshake through a coffee straw.  We all just didn’t fit.  The runners struggled to pass the walkers, and the walkers for the most part kept in groups of twos, however, sometimes those groups of twos became groups of 4 and 6. They weren’t together as a group, but the walls were starting to form. I wasn’t going to push through, so I just kept my line and continued on in the best way I could. It was still dark, and difficult to see in parts as well. There weren’t a ton of highlights during the race. The first 3.5 miles was road, so nothing really to see. I kinda felt like it was missing a bit of the magic, but I was still glad to be running. You know…it was Disney after all.  We eventually hit Epcot where there were a few picture ops along the way. I like running in Epcot. It has a certain zen feeling for me as I ran along the water.

10kwdw

Waiting in the corrals at the start. Peter finds another Peter. Smee and Captain Hook. End of race with Minnie 10K bling.

After we finished the race, we didn’t waste much time. We jumped aboard the bus back to the Coronado Springs, and got ourselves ready for the day to explore the Magic Kingdom.

Magic Kingdom here we come!

Magic Kingdom here we come!

Our first point of interest was Space Mountain. We had our Fast Pass already arranged. Nothing like spending the first moments at WDW getting a thrill. Afterwards, we strolled around the new Fantasyland area and took in the sites. More rides, and window shopping ensued. Before long it was our lunch at Crystal Palace with Winnie the Pooh and gang. Crystal Palace is always cheerful and fun. One day, I’m going to jump in when they do the mini Character parade around the restaurant. For today though…I left it for the kiddies.

Crystal Palace - Character Lunch

Crystal Palace – Character Lunch

After lunch we spent some more time walking the various areas of the park. Before long, it was late afternoon. It was getting hot, an Kari was getting grumpy, so I knew just what would cheer him up. Nothing like a Dole Whip!

Yummy Yummy in my tummy, Dole Whip Pineapple Float

Yummy Yummy in my tummy, Dole Whip Pineapple Float

I missed the photo op during the 5k for Dopey.  The line was the longest I have ever seen for a character during a race.  So I settled for this at MK.

dopey

By the end of the afternoon, we were ready to pack it in. We headed back to our resort and grabbed a Quick bite at our Quick Service restaurant before resting our tired heads. The half marathon was the following morning, so we needed a good nights sleep.

Till Tomorrow, Happy Running.

2 thoughts on “Walt Disney World Minnie 10K and Friday Fun

Leave a Reply

