Birthday Blog!

I’ve been in a great mood lately.  January can be tough, and I’ll admit my mood can be affected by the weather.  However, last weekend the temperatures went up to 15 degrees!  It was just the pick me up I needed for my last training run before the Tinker Bell Half marathon this coming weekend.  I was able to wear a pair of running tights and a t-shirt on my long run last Saturday.  It was absolutely gorgeous outside.

Of course, Mother Nature hasn’t decided to change it’s winter season this soon.  The weather dipped down as of yesterday, and Toronto is back to -3 to +3 averages.  Which really isn’t that bad.  It certainly could be worse.  Today, I went out for my Birthday 6K run and it was quite pleasant at 1 degree.  The sun was nice and bright which took the edge off any dreary winter run.  Oh, by-the-way, Yes, it’s my birthday.  Today!  Yep!  No big celebrations though as I will have more than enough fun this weekend and into the following week.  However, I did have a slice of this….

IMG_0943

And THIS is delicious!  Our favourite cake shop called Dufflet calls it the Lemon Coconut cake and describes it as “Coconut cake filled with alternating layers of lemon and coconut buttercream; frosted with cream cheese icing and finished with snowy coconut”.

It’s absolutely worth the extra calories on anyone’s birthday!

Speaking of indulgences, I went a little kooky yesterday and had my nails done in the closest green I could find that matched Tink’s fairy dress.

What do you think? It’s O.P.I.‘s ‘Don’t Talk Bach To Me’ from the Germany collection.

IMG_0934

IMG_0950

I plan on wearing a few items during the race to celebrate the Tinker Bell run.  Of course, I have my laces I used last year.  I love the little Tink metal attachment that came with the laces.  Not sure what else I will be wearing at the race.  Skirt? Tutu? Wings perhaps?

IMG_0951

If you happen to be on Urban Running Girl’s Facebook or Twitter feeds, stay tuned as I will try and post updates when I can about the weekend. 🙂

Until then….. Happy Running!

6 thoughts on “Birthday Blog!

Leave a Reply

