New York State Of Mind

I arrived back home this morning from a whirlwind trip to the Big Apple!  What a trip!  Had a fantastic time walking around the city and soaking up the New York atmosphere.  This city is definitely alive in so many ways.  This was my second trip to the city this year and this time I made sure I got up early to run in Central Park.  It definitely was the highlight of the weekend.

I arrived in the park just after 7am, and as I entered the park, I immediately saw the New York Road Runners in full swing for their 18 Miler Tune Up.  This was a tune up, in preparation for the 2012 ING New York City Marathon.  I immediately started running along the opposite side of the road (not in the pack), and almost felt like a part of the group!  It was an amazing experience.  I could feel the New York ‘Running’ energy, and boy, was it strong!  I have not yet run the NYC marathon, however, I hope to one day.  The run yesterday gave me an inkling of what it could be to experience the NYC marathon.  Everyone who was running looked in great form, and eager to take on the marathon challenge in November.  It was a beautiful morning for a run.  I was testing out a new pair of Saucony running shoes I bought the day before, and was having a ball running and enjoying the sites around me.  After 20 minutes of running on the main path, I carefully cut into the group so that I could enter the path that goes around the Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir.  I love this route.  There were a few runners, and some walkers, but generally speaking it wasn’t too busy.  For me, it’s a relaxing and serene place.  I pretty much lost myself, both figuratively and literally.  For some reason, I got into a zone, and by the time I decided to run off the reservoir path, and enter the main path again, I completely lost track as to where I was located, in relationship to where I entered the park.  I have a terrible sense of direction sometimes!  I continued running back with the race for a bit and then decided to ask someone where I was located. Although, I could have kept running, I was supposed to be back at the hotel by 9am to meet up with the group I was travelling with for the day’s excursions.  As it turned out, at the time of asking where I was, I couldn’t have been farther from Columbus Circle (where I entered).  Who knows how many loops I did.  I was somewhere in the Upper East Side.  I continued running back and eventually found my way back to the subway entrance.

Running in Central Park was just an amazing way to start my day on Sunday and I definitely will do it again on my next trip to NYC.

If there are any New York runners out there, thank you for letting me run in your beautiful park as it inspired and motivated me in so many ways.  🙂

13 thoughts on “New York State Of Mind

    • Just a great city-all round. Walked for miles. Had a very enjoyable day walking around Soho and Greenwich Village for most of Saturday afternoon. Have a safe trip. You’re definitely going to get a chill in the air, I’m sure! 🙂

    • By the time I left, there were countless runners, walkers, bikers, etc. It really was an absolutely gorgeous day! I would have liked to have stayed longer, however, we had plans to go to Yankee stadium to watch the game. That was fun too!

  1. You were right next to me! I am less than 20 minutes from central park! When I lived in the city I used to run along the river early in the morning and watch the sun come up. It was amazing! I’m so glad you liked it! 🙂

    • I did walk along the Hudson the last time I was visiting (last June). Another great spot for runners. What was great about this trip is that I was pretty confident with my subway riding, and getting about the city. I had done the bike in Central Park as well, on the last visit, but the run was soooo much better! 🙂

  2. Oh, that sounds absolutely wonderful!
    I’ve never been to NYC and actually haven’t been craving it that much either.. Until I became a runner and moved to the US.. Now I just can’t wait until the day I get to visit 🙂

  3. As one of the 4,320 runners at Sunday’s tune-up, let me be the first to say we were happy to have you join us! Hope you celebrated your successful run in true Manhattan style – with three mimosas and the best bagels around.

    • Hee, hee…We actually went to brunch the day before at Harry’s. On Sunday, we went to a Yankee’s game, so on the way I had a slice of New York style za. Of course, it wasn’t a bagel, but it sure did the trick!

  4. I love running in Central Park. I don’t do it often though because it’s a three mile run to get there and another three back, and obviously I feel super lazy taking the subway there when I could run it. But, I still love running there. It’s so pretty and it’s a nice break from the hustle and bustle of the city.

Leave a Reply

