Nutrigenomix

I was motivated to type this blog after reading Ramblings in the key of ‘Rick’ today.  He blogged about the Paleo diet.  Whether you agree or disagree with his point of view, he definitely puts out a good argument and a good read.  I enjoy his passion!

His blog sparked a memory I had from a news item a few months ago about DNA testing for optimum health.  The general idea is that genes (don’t get too excited here Jill, it’s genes with a ‘G‘) affect how we react and process certain foods we eat.  The test analyzes these genetic variants against 7 different nutrients to see how the body processes them.  The nutrients are Folate, Whole grains, Vitamin C, Saturated Fat, Sodium, Omega 3 Fat, and my favourite, caffeine.  This is then further compared to a person’s risk of specific diseases, such as diabetes or heart disease.  After the test is concluded, a person receives a personal report based on the findings.

Here is a video for more information :

Nutrigenomix

If you viewed the video, are you starting to feel a little bit like a robot about now?  I do. 😉

Now, I won’t say I’m running out to go find a nutritionist at the moment to get my DNA analyzed, but I do find some benefits here.  Especially for those who may have a family history of heart disease or other ailments which they can find out if their specific eating habits are doing them more harm than good.

As well, perhaps some people need a more scientific based reason to get healthier.  We live in a world where we have an endless supply of nutritional information we can seek out, and generally speaking, we know which foods are good vs. bad; Yet with all this information, obesity rates are continuing to go up.  Perhaps doctors telling patients to just lose weight is simply not enough.  Perhaps making a personal and scientifically based plan is the only way to change people’s attitude towards a better lifestyle.  Thoughts?

What do you think about Nutrigenomix?  Do you think there are major benefits to being tested? (or am I just getting sucked in to all the hype?)

Any nutrition experts out there?  Would love to hear your pov.

14 thoughts on “Nutrigenomix

  1. I don’t think there could be much in the way of cons here. Heart disease runs in my family, so I would love to know in addition to an already healthy diet and exercise program if there is anything else I could do to reduce my risk. Spit in a tube, get some recommendations – where’s the downside? 🙂 Then again, I’m not a dietitian, physician, nurse, or any kind of health expert.

  2. How much does this kind of thing cost? If it becomes more mainstream I could see a lot of benefits here. You’re right, just knowing that you have to lose weight doesn’t motivate people to lose weight and get healthy! Unfortunately it usually takes some kind of wake up call to send the message home.

  3. Hey all, I came across this blog post and was truly happy to see that people are starting to discuss the topic of genetic testing for nutrition therapy. Regardless of family history, this test is meant to indetify risks of develpoing certain health coditions or diseases ONLY IF you carry a genetic risk AND if your consumption in the particular dietary component is too high or low. Certain diets, including the Paleo diet requires significant changes to ones diet and ultimately to give up certain foods which may be a significant source of some vitamins and minerals. If the genetic test is to identify certain risks, you need to make sure that whatever diet you are going to follow be optimized to adjust for those risks and if that is not possible, to supplement accordingly. My background is in the science of nutrigenomics and I actually completed my graduate studies at the same lab as the founder of Nutrigenomix. Although I am a nutritional scientist specializing in this particular field I cannot apply it in a clinical setting. My wife is a dietitian who has always believed that personalized nutrition through genetic testing is the way of the future. This is simply because the general guidelines would recommend two individuals with similar situations be on the same diet when in fact their genes may suggest completely something different. Anyways, if you or anyone is interested in learning more about why the test is the best new tool in improving overall health, check out our website and learn more about our practice at http://www.mydietclinic.com. Also, follow us on Facebook and/or twitter to get updates on the latest nutrition and health news, especially pertaining to genetics and the logical reasons to invest in such a test. Let us know if you have any questions about the science.

  4. Your comment to me made me lol!
    If you are a reader, I would highly recommend the book The Language of Life: DNA and the Revolution in Personalized Medicine by Francis Collins. I found it absolutely fascinating.

  5. Sounds a lot like a book I read a few years ago called “Eat Right 4 Your Type.” The premise was that based on your blood type, you should eat a certain diet. From what I can tell, the Nutrigenomix has a similar concept.

    It will be interesting to see where science takes the nutrition side of our health in the coming years. As you mentioned in a comment above, and I think you’re probably right, we may be headed towards a more specialized diet plans based on a person’s specific DNA make up.

  6. Thanks for linking to my blog. Regarding Nutrogenix, for me, if has a techy sounding name and is a marketed product, it is likely full of promises but not results. Perhaps I am over skeptical, who can say. I think I’ll dig a little deeper on this stuff, see what I can find out.

    • The science of nutrigenomics itself is 20 years + old. It is just now that we are able to apply the science in clinical settings. The company itself is a biotech spin-off from U of T and the current 7 genetic panel test is based on credible scientific research published in the top medical Journals. The test just allows that science to be put into practice. Our clinic has already begun offering this test since June to many people and you won’t be able to measure results immediately. Its purpose is not to be a fad but to optimize the nutrition reccomendations to your genes. The Health Canada guidlines are set for an entire population based on what is good enough for the majority. However, these limits or minimums cannot be a one size fits all. We are all different in every aspect. How can anyone argue that we process and metabolize foods the same way.

      If you want to learn more about the service check out all the resources we have here: http://mydietclinic.com/services/nutrigenomix-testing/

  7. Just as an FYI to all the readers out there. I have no relationship nor any off-blog contact with Stephen Ozsungur. He found this post on his own, however, I think it’s great that he is here if there were any further questions about this topic. Definitely ask here if you wish, and perhaps he will answer.

    • Thank you for the kind welcome, Urban Running Girl. Our main goal is to educate the public on the application of the science so please do reach out if there are any questions. I found this blog through a google alert of the word nutrigenomix and was so happy to see that the word is getting around.

Leave a Reply

