If a uterus falls out on a race course…would you hear it?

Growing up, I didn’t have a lot of female sport role models.  Perhaps I didn’t look into it much, as my outlets for information at the time were our daily newspaper and my public school library.  (No Internet here folks!)  The library was filled with books that dated back to a pre-Canadian Flag era, so nothing too current.  Although, I have to exclude Judy Blume’s, Are You There God?  It’s Me, Margaret.  That book was written in 1970, but it didn’t arrive in our school until 1980, so it was new to me.  I was on a wait list to read it.   I believe I reserved it in grade 6, and I’m still on the wait list to this day! 😉

Getting back on topic here, it was a different time.  Sportswomen weren’t discussed as much as they are today.  At least not celebrated and written about as much as they are today.   Generally speaking, there seemed to be an unwillingness to accept the female long distance runner.  Up into the 70’s, many female runners were running marathons by crashing them, aka marathon bandits, or in the case of Katherine Switzer, registering under her initials.  It wasn’t until 1972 when women were allowed to officially run the Boston Marathon.   For many years leading up to these events, there was a lot of struggle for women runners and it wasn’t until the late 70’s into the 80’s that women finally got some major recognition.  In 1984, the Olympics held the first women’s marathon.

That was only 28 years ago.

I’m going to type that again because that sounds so wrong……

28 years ago.

(Insert a moment of silence here to reflect)

For me, that number is just mind-boggling.

The good news…

Today, women are running everywhere and in record numbers.  In fact, according to stats in America, 55% of total participants in road races are women.  Women beat the men in all running category distances with exception of the full marathon.

GO WOMEN!

And if you are wondering about the title of this blog….

Years ago, there was a time that women were told their uterus’ would fall out if they ran.

*shakes head

While I’ve heard of uterine prolapse, I’ve never heard of running being the cause of it!  Anyone?

How do you feel about the progress women have made in the running world?

I selected this post to be featured on Running Blogs. Please visit the site and vote for my blog!
20 thoughts on “If a uterus falls out on a race course…would you hear it?

  1. I think it is just fabulous that we as women can be mothers carers wives…and. flippin good runners!!! And as for prolapse (nurse here)…yes your bits can come out when its bad and yeah running doesn’t help (also living with prolapse from childbirth) but running certainly doesn’t cause it…in fact I just ran my first 10km…GO WOMEN!!! Love love love this post

  2. It IS amazing that it’s only been 28 yrs. Especially in ultra marathos, women truly excel at long distance running. I think there are already certain marathons where women outnumber men. And I love that many of the Olympic female runners were in their late 30’s and 40’s.

  3. Your blog post title actually made me laugh out loud. I also thought of Katherine Switzer. I truly can’t believe women were barred from running in competitive races, and 28 years is only 6 years older than me. Mind boggling!

  4. you certainly caught my attention with this topic! Women are strong creatures! Having read this, and the facts, I feel much more confident to take on running as a part of my lifestyle! I’m so upset I can’t start right now now now.

  5. Great title! So much of this resonated with me. I started running when I was 13 and haven’t stopped. You’ve really have me thinking about the prolapse/running connection, so heading off to read more. I always assumed this was a just a by-product of bearing large healthy babies. As much as I love running it does take its toll on the female body, knees, hips, lower back, but nothing else whips me into shape and I still have good legs, over forty. Keep up the terrific posts.

  6. This post is fantastic. I have done a bunch of research into the development of women’s athletics and it’s unbelievable. Women were discouraged from physical activity because it was thought to decrease their ability to have children and could make them too manly. Women have come so far with their involvement in athletic activities yet still have a way to go!

  7. I love this blog! Being and “older Woman” I can say that not having role models although it really did suck, did not stop us. I started running when I was just a young girl in the 60’s. For the most part to get away from pesky siblings, I have 7 of them. I was very good at sprinting back then but loved a long run on the beach. As I advanced in age running did not hold the spot it did early on or even the spot it does now, life happened, I made my mark as a ferocious female in other ways, some not so much!

    Running was always an outlet for frustration, nerves and just a way to reconnect with myself, but after I turned 50 I had a really good friend die of cancer and wanted to do something to help, so I joined Team in Training and learned how to run a marathon, and fell in love with marathon running.

    I have since that date ran 7 marathons, as my blog attests to it not very fast! I am a slow runner, I am not trying to break any records, although I am so proud of my gender and the strides they have made to catch up and beat our male friends. I have taken classes from Jeff Galloway and have every book he has written along with his awesome wife. I plan on running way into my “golden age” and I will not stop loving pushing myself to the limits of my ability.

    It is in making mistakes that we grow, and it is in coming up against a wall where we learn to scale it!

    I really enjoyed this blog and got a great laugh out of it! Thanks

    Marybeth

    • Thanks so much for sharing your story with my blog. Glad to hear you reconnected with running and are pushing yourself to achieve your goals. Sounds like you are doing great – 7 marathons is no easy task. Congrats.

Leave a Reply

