Dinner time with URG

I had a good workout today.  Pushed myself on some speed drills for 5K and then walked it out for another mile.  After I got home, I did some light weights, crunches, and planks.  I followed it up with a half hour of yoga and a few additional stretches.

Afterwards, I blended up my protein drink and I was back to work doing various other tasks.

My spouse is working today and won’t be home til much after the dinner hour, so tonight I’m on my own to cook.  I like to make quick meals, but also relatively healthy meals.  I was in a bit of a mexican mood, so I opted for my quick and easy burrito-esque sandwich with a side salad.  If you are ever in need of a quick meal, here’s the one.  It’s also extremely filling.  I won’t be hungry for the rest of the night!

Mix in a bowl :

  1. Cooked chicken breast (chopped small) 3 oz
  2. Cooked wild whole grain rice .5 cup (or substitute with your choice of rice in the same amount)
  3. Black beans .5 cup
  4. Shredded cheddar 1/3 cup
  5. Salsa 4-6 tbsp depending on your taste

Makes 2 large wraps

Here’s what it looks like when mixed :

After you have the filling mixed, lay out one large tortilla  (your choice) over a piece of tin foil.  Make sure the tin foil is big enough to wrap the burrito.  Here I have used a Spinach flavour tortilla.  Spoon the filling onto the tortilla.  I used about half the prepared filling :

I’ve tucked the bottom inward (which you can’t see) to make a bottom and then wrapped the tortilla around like this :

Then, wrap the tin foil around the entire tortilla like this :

Put the tortilla into a pre-heated oven at about 350 degrees for about 10-15 minutes (depends how cool your ingredients were when being prepared)

When it’s ready, unwrap the package and have with a salad and a couple of blue tortilla chips.

I estimated each wrap to have around 455 calories.  The wrap itself was 190 so you could opt to go without it or find a better tortilla choice with less calories.  The filling itself would be good for a taco-esque salad.  (I’m all about the ‘esquing’ today-lol)  We’ve got fiber, carbs, protein and some iron in there too!  The only thing I don’t like is the high sodium, mainly due to the wrap.  I must find another brand.  I have extra filling!  Who wants one? 😉

What’s your favourite fast meal?

10 thoughts on “Dinner time with URG

    • If it’s a pre-packaged noodle pack, I’d say the sodium content is probably pretty high. Perhaps MSG? However, there are lots of recipes out there for Ramen noodles if you opt to make your own homemade soup.

  1. This is similar to how we make tacos, but I never thought to wrap it up and cook it like a burrito- brilliant! Will definitely have to try that soon 🙂

  2. Pingback: Saturday Stories | The Courage of Lungs

Leave a Reply

